Crouching Tiger Hidden Zebra

20th August

Arriving home the other night I wandered into the lounge to find the housemate watching the TV as per usual. Distracted by his online poker he had left the TV on BBC and Lorraine Pascale’s Fast Fresh and Easy Food was starting. I sat transfixed for the next 30 mins, apparently breaking silence to mutter ‘ooo I could give that a go’ or ‘ooo we could have that for your leaving do’. But what inspired me the most was her ‘Crouching Tiger Hidden Zebra’ cake, which I decided to make this week. The recipe wasn’t available online and I hadn’t thought to write it down, so I made a basic sponge cake recipe:

Ingredients:

2 medium eggs

75g caster sugar

75g self-raising flour

Heat oven to 180ºC, 350ºF, Gas Mark 4. Grease an 18 cm (7 inch) cake tin.

I whizzed all this together in the food processer and poured it into a freezer bag and tied it at the end. I then made the mixture again but put on 65g of self-raising flour, and 10g of sifted cocoa powder in. Whizzed again and into another freezer bag.

This is where it gets messy, snip the corners of each freezer bag, and picking one colour, pipe a circle into the middle of the cake tin. Then using the other colour pipe another circle into that. Continue, alternating colours until the tin is full, you will probably have some mix left over. It should look like this:

Before the oven

 

Pop it in the oven for 20-30 minutes. Cool and eat. I added a layer of butter cream onto the top of the cake as I thought it was bit dry. The cake tasted good but was strangely bouncy; perhaps I will try with plain flour and baking powder next time.

A zebra in a cake?!

Leave a Reply

